The Muck  ·  WSOP Daily Brief

August 29, 2026
WSOP Brief

Day 96 - The Missing Fifty-Three Edition

We have been counting wrong, and so has everybody else. For eleven days this brief has been arguing about whether the 2026 bracelet ledger is eight short. It is fifty-three short. There was a second online bracelet series this year, thirty events on WSOP.com across Nevada, New Jersey, Michigan and Pennsylvania, running May 30 through July 14 in parallel with Las Vegas, and it awarded thirty gold bracelets to almost no coverage at all. Add WSOP Europe's fifteen in Prague in April, the hundred in Las Vegas, and the eight GGPoker has handed out since August 16, and the 2026 World Series of Poker has awarded 153 bracelets. The list the WSOP Circuit's own media partner calls 'the full list' has 100 names on it. Meanwhile the numbers behind the summer are in and they tell a story nobody put in a headline: the live series set an all-time entry record and still paid out less money than last year, and the online series shed 18 percent of its prize pool in a single year.

01 The Things That Mattered Today

Story 01 of 6

The 2026 WSOP Has Awarded 153 Bracelets. The Record Says 100.

What happened

Assemble the 2026 bracelet calendar from the WSOP's own published sources and the number is not close to a hundred. WSOP Europe ran March 31 to April 12 at King's Casino and the Hilton Prague with 15 bracelets, announced by the WSOP itself and listed under BRACELETS in WSOP.com's own 2026 past-tournaments archive. Las Vegas ran May 26 to July 15 with 100. A separate 30-event online bracelet series ran on WSOP.com from May 30 to July 14, open to players in Nevada, New Jersey, Michigan and Pennsylvania, announced by Caesars Entertainment in April and confirmed complete by Pokerfuse in July. GGPoker has awarded 8 more since August 16. That is 15 plus 100 plus 30 plus 8, or 153 gold bracelets awarded in 2026 as of today. Poker.Org's page titled '2026 WSOP winners: The full list,' last modified August 25, lists 100. Twenty-five more GGPoker bracelets and twenty at WSOP Paradise in December bring the announced season total to 198.

Why it matters

Two days ago this brief said the record of the 2026 WSOP was eight bracelets short and called that a real problem. We had no idea. The thirty US online bracelets were awarded eight to ten weeks ago, to real players, in events with published guarantees and a Caesars press release announcing them, and they are missing from the results page the tour's own Circuit media partner maintains. Nobody appears to have written a sentence about that until now. There is a version of this where the word 'bracelet' quietly comes to mean 'live bracelet won in Las Vegas' and 68 champions a year get filed under an asterisk. That version is already happening. It is just happening without anyone announcing it.

Story 02 of 6

Record Entries, Less Money: The 2026 Summer Numbers Are In and They Do Not Flatter Anyone

What happened

Pokerfuse, citing Poker Industry PRO's audit, published the closing numbers for the summer. The live series drew a record 251,899 entries across 100 bracelet events and generated nearly $470 million in prize money, which makes it the largest WSOP ever by entries and only the second-largest by prize pools. WSOP.com's own boilerplate puts 2025 at 246,960 entries and more than $481 million. So 2026 brought roughly five thousand more bodies through the door and paid out roughly eleven million dollars less. The online series went the other direction on both counts: 43,263 entries and $24.5 million in prize money across 30 events, against 50,461 entries and $29,883,840 in 2025. Prize pools fell about 18 percent and entries fell about 14 percent, the second consecutive annual decline. Average prize pool per online event was $816,842 from an average field of 1,442. Only eight of thirty events cleared a million dollars.

Why it matters

Record attendance and shrinking prize money at the same time means one thing: the average buy-in went down. The live series collected about $1,866 per entry this summer against roughly $1,948 last year. More people are showing up and each of them is spending less, which is exactly the shape you would expect from a field tilting further toward the $300 and $500 events. That is not a crisis, it is a business model change, and it is one the WSOP has been engineering deliberately with openers like the $550 Mini Mystery Millions. The online number is the harder read. Pokerfuse's own explanation is visibility, that the online series 'largely flew under the radar' while everyone watched Las Vegas. We have spent two weeks documenting exactly how far under the radar it flew. A series that awarded thirty gold bracelets and $24.5 million and generated almost no coverage lost 18 percent of its prize pool. Those two facts are probably not unrelated.

Story 03 of 6

The WSOP's Own 2026 Archive Does Not Contain Either Online Bracelet Series

What happened

WSOP.com maintains a past-tournaments archive with a 2026 filter and toggles for BRACELETS and CIRCUIT. Every Circuit stop of the year is on it, from Planet Hollywood in January through Harrah's Atlantic City in August, including stops in Morocco, Liechtenstein, Uruguay, Slovakia and Estonia. WSOP Europe in Prague is on it, tagged BRACELETS. The 57th WSOP in Las Vegas is on it, tagged BRACELETS, with ESPN Live and YouTube Stream badges. There is no entry anywhere on the page for the 30-event WSOP.com online bracelet series that ended July 14, and no entry for the GGPoker series that has been running since August 16. The August section of the archive contains exactly two items, Harrah's Cherokee and Harrah's Atlantic City, both of which have concluded. Tunica, Tulsa and Playground are all in progress and all absent, which is consistent with the archive adding a series only after it ends. That explanation does not cover the US online series, which ended forty-six days ago.

Why it matters

The Poker.Org list is a third-party page and we have been fair about calling it a media problem. This is not that. This is the World Series of Poker's own results archive, on wsop.com, under a filter literally labelled BRACELETS, and it does not acknowledge that thirty gold bracelets were awarded on the WSOP's own real-money poker site six weeks ago. Caesars issued a press release announcing the series in April with a quote from its Vice President of Online Poker. The bracelets are real, the winners are real, the $24.5 million was really paid. It is the record that is thin. When the governing body's archive and the partner outlet's master list independently arrive at the same omission, the outlets are not the common factor.

Story 04 of 6

Women Tied the Open-Bracelet Record This Year and Nobody Knew Until the Online Results Turned Up

What happened

PokerStrategy reported on July 20, updated August 4, that five women won open WSOP bracelets in 2026, matching the record set in 2024. Three were live and well covered: Yanting Jiang took the $3,000 Mid Stakes Championship in a record field for a seven-figure score on her birthday, Michelle Chin won the $1,500 Triple Draw for the first women's mixed-game bracelet in eleven years, and Kristen Foxen won her sixth career bracelet. The other two were online, on WSOP.com, and surfaced only after the summer ended. Sasha Mahabir and Krista Gifford each won an open online bracelet. Pokerfuse's July 21 numbers piece mentions Mahabir's win in a single aside and counts four female open champions; PokerStrategy, filing the day before and updating on August 4, has five with Gifford included. The 2024 record was Vivien Saliba live plus Maria Konnikova, Cherish Andrews, Michelle Lawson and Kristen Foxen online. The same year also produced a record-breaking Ladies Championship, won by Skye Chen.

Why it matters

A record for women at the World Series was matched in 2026 and it could not be confirmed until weeks after the series ended, because two of the five bracelets were won in a series whose results were not being published anywhere in real time. That is the cost of the coverage gap, stated as plainly as it can be stated. It is not an abstraction about archive hygiene. It is a specific milestone, in a year the WSOP would obviously like to promote, that sat unverifiable because nobody was writing down who won the online events. Note also that the two outlets that did the counting do not agree on the total, which is what happens when the primary record does not exist and everyone is reconstructing it from fragments.

Story 05 of 6

Caixeta's Number Lands at $207,167. The 95 Percent Rule Is Six for Six, Off By Ten Dollars.

What happened

We have carried the missing WSOP Online Event #1 figures for two briefs. Poker.Org published them on August 17, and the piece is by Mo Afdhal, which also means the Circuit's official media partner has been covering these bracelets in its news section the whole time even as its master results list ignores them. Raphael Caixeta of Brazil won the $700 7th Annual WSOP Kickoff for $207,167, split $126,912 in placement money and $80,255 in bounties, plus the $30,000 Paradise Super Pass. The field was 3,607 entries for a $2,398,665 prize pool. Kevin Martin, Niklas Astedt, David Williams, Jessica Tuesl and 2025 Paradise Super Main champion Bernhard Binder all cashed without reaching the final table. Run the arithmetic we have been running all week: 3,607 entries at $700 is $2,524,900, and 95 percent of that is $2,398,655. The published pool is $2,398,665. Ten dollars over, across a field of 3,607, in a two-pool bounty event.

Why it matters

Six events now, from $500 to $5,000, in fields from 466 to 12,113, and the method holds to within ten dollars on the one event where bounty allocation gives it somewhere to round. That is the tightest possible confirmation that the fee structure is deterministic, and it makes the $100 Flip & Go's 164 percent look worse, not better. One other thing is buried in the payout table. First place took $126,912 in placement money and second place took $126,901, a gap of eleven dollars, while the gap from second to third is $28,643. Nobody plays a heads-up match to a difference of eleven dollars. That is a chop, and Poker.Org does not say so. Worth noting only because two nights ago a $500 Mini Main went heads-up with $171,434 on the line and refused one.

Story 06 of 6

The US Online Series Keeps Roughly Twice the Cut GGPoker Does, and It May Be Its Last One on 888

What happened

Poker Industry PRO's audit puts 2026 WSOP.com online tournament fees at approximately $2.5 million against $24.5 million in prize pools. That means players put in roughly $27 million and got roughly 90.7 percent of it back, against the flat 95.00 percent that every GGPoker WSOP Online event this month has returned to the cent. Separately, Pokerfuse reports that WSOP Online currently runs on software supplied by 888, that the long-running partnership is believed to have reached the end of its term, and that the WSOP has not announced whether it has been renewed or whether a new platform will power the site going forward. Pokerfuse's conclusion: if a transition is planned, the 2026 schedule may be remembered as the last online bracelet series on the 888 platform. Since online bracelets were introduced in 2015 they have awarded 151 bracelets, generated nearly $146 million and drawn more than 220,000 entries.

Why it matters

Two online bracelet series, same brand, same gold, roughly four and a half points of difference in what the house keeps. A grinder playing thirty US online events is paying about $86,000 more in fees per million dollars of buy-in than the same grinder on GGPoker. That is not a scandal, live and online and regulated and offshore all cost different amounts to run, but it has never been laid next to itself in public and it is one more reason the US series is shrinking while the international one is not. The 888 question is the bigger one. The platform contract expiring with no announcement, in the same summer the series posted its second straight decline, is the kind of quiet that usually precedes an announcement. Somebody at Caesars knows the answer today.

02 Bracelet Tracker

The count changes today, substantially. The 2026 World Series of Poker has awarded 153 gold bracelets: 15 at WSOP Europe in Prague from March 31 to April 12, 100 in Las Vegas from May 26 to July 15, 30 on WSOP.com in the US online series from May 30 to July 14, and 8 on GGPoker since August 16. Twenty-five more GGPoker bracelets are scheduled before September 29 and twenty more at WSOP Paradise in December, for an announced season total of 198. Two housekeeping corrections to our own file. First, we can now confirm Raphael Caixeta's Event #1 prize, which we listed as unconfirmed on August 27. Second, Poker.Org has in fact been covering the GGPoker bracelets in its news section since August 17, by Mo Afdhal, even though its master results list carries none of them. We described that list as the outlet's coverage two days ago and it is only its record-keeping. No new GGPoker bracelet was published on August 28 or today; the $1,500 Millionaire Maker resolves August 31 and the $250 Mystery Millions on September 7. Names for the 30 US online champions are not available on any single page we could find today, which is the entire point of story three.

Raphael Caixeta$207,167
WSOP Online Event #1: $700 7th Annual WSOP Kickoff2026-08-16

Brazil. First bracelet, confirmed today off Poker.Org's August 17 report after two briefs carrying it as unverified. $126,912 in placement money plus $80,255 in bounties, plus the $30,000 Paradise Super Pass. 3,607 entries, $2,398,665 prize pool, which is ten dollars above an exact 95 percent of face value. Kevin Martin, Niklas Astedt, David Williams, Jessica Tuesl and Bernhard Binder all cashed short of the final table.

Sasha Mahabirnot published
2026 WSOP Online (WSOP.com US series), event not specified in available reporting2026-07

One of the thirty US online bracelets, and one of five open bracelets won by women in 2026, matching the record set in 2024. Pokerfuse mentions the win in a single aside in its July 21 numbers piece and names no event, no field size and no prize. We could not find a dedicated report on this bracelet anywhere.

Krista Giffordnot published
2026 WSOP Online (WSOP.com US series), event not specified in available reporting2026-07

The fifth of the five open bracelets won by women in 2026, per PokerStrategy's August 4 update. Pokerfuse's July 21 count of four does not include her. No event, field or prize figure appears in any source we opened today.

Lucas Teixeira Rodriguesnot confirmed
WSOP Online Event #2: $300 Gladiators of Poker2026-08-18

Brazil. Confirmed by a dated PokerNews headline on August 19. Prize and field figures still not read off an open page. Carried from prior briefs.

03 Big Stack Energy
No chip counts were published anywhere in this window. The GGPoker series had no Day 2 in progress worth reporting on August 28 or today, and none of the three live Circuit stops running right now has published a single stack. Horseshoe Tunica is on day ten of an 18-ring series that ends August 31. Hard Rock Tulsa is on day four of eighteen rings running to September 7. WSOP Super Circuit Canada at Playground is on day four of a series with a CA$10,000,000 Main Event guarantee starting September 3, and has still published no registration figure for either of the two events it has already run. WSOP.com has published nothing at all since the Tulsa release at 4 p.m. Eastern on August 26.
04 Bustout Board

The only final table that became public in this window is the one from WSOP Online Event #1, published back on August 17 and read by us for the first time today. Prizes shown are placement money plus bounties combined. No live Circuit final table from Tunica, Tulsa or Playground exists on the public record.

Khaw 'Apacgg' Chin Wah$160,310
WSOP Online Event #1: $700 7th Annual WSOP Kickoff · 2nd

$126,901 in placement money, eleven dollars less than Caixeta's $126,912, against a $28,643 gap between second and third. That is a chop and nobody printed it as one. Made up the difference in bounties, or rather did not: $33,409 to Caixeta's $80,255.

'Lichu89'$104,258
WSOP Online Event #1: $700 7th Annual WSOP Kickoff · 3rd

$98,258 in placement money and exactly $6,000 in bounties, the lowest bounty haul at the table by a distance. Ran deep on cards rather than on knockouts.

Oleksii 'ITakeIt' Trofymenko$87,761
WSOP Online Event #1: $700 7th Annual WSOP Kickoff · 4th

$76,084 placement plus $11,677 bounties. Fourth in a 3,607-entry field for 125 times the buy-in.

Eui 'Rollpounder' Kim$57,751
WSOP Online Event #1: $700 7th Annual WSOP Kickoff · 6th

$45,627 placement plus $12,124 in bounties, the third-largest bounty total at the final table from the sixth-place finish.

'fantexi0058'$34,092
WSOP Online Event #1: $700 7th Annual WSOP Kickoff · 9th

Busted first at the final table and still out-earned the eighth-place finisher, $34,092 to $34,391, near enough to a tie. Collected $12,885 in bounties, second-most at the table behind the champion.

Kevin Martinnot published
WSOP Online Event #1: $700 7th Annual WSOP Kickoff · in the money

GGPoker ambassador, cashed short of the final table alongside Niklas Astedt, David Williams, Jessica Tuesl and 2025 Paradise Super Main Event champion Bernhard Binder. Poker.Org names them but publishes no finishing positions.

05 POY / Legacy Watch
Shaun Deeb POY leader, 3,410

Carried from the WSOP leaderboard as last read, not re-verified today. Worth restating in light of today's count: 153 bracelets have been awarded in 2026 and only 115 of them, the 15 in Prague and the 100 in Las Vegas, carried Player of the Year points. The 38 online bracelets scored zero.

Naoya Kihara 2nd, 3,388

Twenty-two points back with nothing POY-eligible on the calendar until WSOP Paradise in December. Carried, unchanged. Kihara also won the $10,000 No-Limit 2-7 Lowball Draw Championship in Las Vegas this summer, coming back from one chip, twelve years after becoming the first Japanese bracelet winner.

William Foxen 3rd, 3,381

Alex Foxen under his legal name on the WSOP leaderboard, seven behind Kihara. Carried, unchanged.

Kristen Foxen 6 bracelets, record tied

Won her sixth career bracelet this summer and is one of the five women to take an open bracelet in 2026, matching the record she was also part of in 2024. Two of this year's five were won online and could not be confirmed until August, which is why nobody wrote the record-tying story in July.

Sasha Mahabir and Krista Gifford 1 bracelet each, 0 POY points

Both won open bracelets in the WSOP.com online series. Both scored zero POY points under the rule on wsop.com/player-of-the-year. Neither has a published event name, field size or prize figure on any page we could find.

06 Tomorrow's Watchlist
01 Whether anyone publishes a list of the 30 US online bracelet winners: Thirty champions, $24.5 million, series ended July 14. We could not assemble the names from any single source today. If the WSOP will not archive them, somebody should.
02 Whether the 888 platform deal has been renewed: Pokerfuse reports the contract is believed to be at the end of its term with no announcement. If a transition is coming, the fall online series scheduling is where it shows up first.
03 The $1,500 Millionaire Maker resolves August 31: $5,000,000 guaranteed with $1,000,000 to first. The biggest guaranteed first-place prize in the GGPoker series before the $25M Main Event.
04 Horseshoe Tunica ends August 31: Day ten of eighteen rings and still zero published champions. Atlantic City dumped its full slate the day the series ended. Expect the same on or about September 1.
05 Playground's first published registration figure: Four days in, two events fired, no numbers. The CA$5,000 Main Event with its CA$10,000,000 guarantee starts September 3 and that number is the whole story of the stop.
06 The Flip & Go entry count: Six events now divide to 95 percent of face value, five of them exactly and one within ten dollars. Event #5 divides to 164 percent. Nobody has corrected it.
07 Whether WSOP.com adds the online series to its 2026 archive: WSOP Europe is on the page. Las Vegas is on the page. Every Circuit stop from Marrakech to Montevideo is on the page. Two online bracelet series are not.
08 Caesars Virginia opens September 3: The Circuit's first Virginia stop with a $500,000 Main Event guarantee. First field size tells you whether the expansion math works.
♠   ♥   ♦   ♣